← Back
Japan eSIM comparison · 2026

Best eSIM for Japan in 2026: an honest comparison by use case

Network, Japanese IP, what “unlimited” really means, hotspot, refunds when it doesn’t work, and who answers when you need help. Prices and terms are taken from each provider’s official site, with the date we checked.

Short answer

For the lowest price, look at povo Japan SIM (KDDI's own visitor eSIM, ¥3,390 for 7 days unlimited, no refunds) and Sim Local ($19 for 7 days unlimited on au). Airalo, Saily and Holafly cost about $27. Pick Sakura Mobile or Mobal if you need a Japanese phone number. Pick iroiro if you want a refund when it can't connect, a free new eSIM if you lose or break your phone, people who answer in your language, and calls made for you in Japanese; it is not the cheapest.

The best eSIM for Japan, by what you need

  • Lowest pricepovo Japan SIM or Sim Local

    povo: ¥3,390 for 7 days unlimited or ¥1,430 for 10 GB / 7 days on au, but no refunds and you need an SMS-capable number from one of 20 listed countries. Sim Local: $19 for 7 days unlimited on au, refundable within 14 days if not activated. Which is cheaper depends on the exchange rate.

  • You need a Japanese phone numberSakura Mobile or Mobal

    Sakura Mobile sells a voice + data eSIM for travelers (ID check in person at an airport counter or in Shinjuku). Mobal's numbers come with long-term monthly plans. Everyone else here is data only.

  • Most full-speed data on unlimitedSaily or Ubigi

    Both give 5 GB a day at full speed before slowing down, compared with 3 GB at Airalo and iroiro. Ubigi has no 7-day plan; its nearest is 8 days.

  • Cheap fixed data from a global brandUbigi

    10 GB for 7 days at $14, and Ubigi lists all three major Japanese networks.

  • Japanese IP addressiroiro Standard plans or Japan Wireless

    iroiro Standard plans run on NTT docomo through a Japanese MVNO profile with a Japanese IP; Japan Wireless states “Local IP” for its eSIMs. Most others don't state the IP country, and Holafly says its IP may look foreign.

  • If you lose or break your phoneiroiro, or Saily / Ubigi

    Among the eSIMs here, only iroiro includes a free new eSIM (1 per order) at no extra cost when your phone is lost or broken; Mobal offers one through its paid All Risk Protection Plan. Saily and Ubigi let you move the same eSIM to a new phone in their app. povo and IIJ state they give no reissues; Airalo, Mobal and Japan Wireless ask you to buy a new eSIM.

  • First eSIM, or you want help in your languageiroiro

    A full refund if it can't connect on a supported, unlocked phone and we can't fix it (ask within 7 days), real people in the same chat, 1 free reissue and up to 3 calls made in Japanese. It costs more than povo, Sim Local, Mobal and Airalo.

  • Buying after you landIIJ Japan Travel SIM

    Sold at convenience stores in Japan (Lawson, FamilyMart, Ministop), including a digital eSIM version on docomo. It can't be bought officially before you travel.

Japan eSIM comparison table

Each row uses the provider's own website on the date shown. Prices are as displayed: global brands show US dollars (prices can differ in your currency), Japanese providers show yen including tax. “Not stated” means we could not find it on the official site, not that the feature is missing.

Prices and data

Scroll sideways to see every provider's details.

ProviderNetworkUnlimited, 7 daysUnlimited speed ruleAbout 10 GBHotspot
AiraloSoftBank / KDDI ("Moshi Moshi")$26.503 GB/day at full speed, then 1 Mbps10 GB / 7 days $17.00 (from $4.00)Yes
SailyKDDI / SoftBank (roaming partners)$26.995 GB/day at full speed, then 1 Mbps10 GB / 30 days $17.99 (from $3.99)Yes; terms prohibit excessive tethering on unlimited
HolaflyKDDI / SoftBank$27.50No GB figure; carrier fair-use slowdowns may applyUnlimited plans onlyUp to 1 GB/day
UbigiKDDI / NTT docomo / SoftBankNo 7-day plan; 8 days $258 days: 5 GB/day, then 2 Mbps10 GB / 7 days $14 (from $3.50)Yes
Sim LocalUnlimited: au (KDDI). Fixed data: SoftBank / KDDI$19.00KDDI fair use; guarantee terms cap at 10 GB/day10 GB / 30 days $16.25Yes; up to 6 GB on 7-day unlimited
MobalUnlimited: KDDI. Fixed data and voice: docomo¥3,850No fair-use limit stated (“it really is unlimited”)10 GB / 8 days ¥3,850Yes; up to 6 GB on 7-day unlimited
Sakura MobileUnlimited: au (KDDI). 3 GB/day plans: docomo¥5,775 (¥5,250 + tax)“No daily limits” stated10 GB / 7 days ¥4,950 (¥4,500 + tax)Yes; up to 6 GB on 7-day unlimited
Japan Wireless5G plans: KDDI. 4G plans: docomo5G $35.35; 4G “unlimited” $29.12 (3 GB/day)5G: temporary fair-use slowdown for extreme use. 4G: 3 GB/day, then 256 kbps10 GB / 5 days $12.23; 10 GB / 10 days $13.09Yes
povo Japan SIMau (KDDI), 4G/5G¥3,390No GB figure; may slow during congestion10 GB / 7 days ¥1,430 (from ¥600)Not stated
IIJ Japan Travel SIM (eSIM)NTT docomo, 4G onlyNo eSIM unlimited plan—10 GB / 30 days ¥3,280 (2025 announced price; set by store)Not stated
iroirousStandard: NTT docomo (4G). Unlimited: SoftBank / KDDI (4G/5G)¥4,4803 GB/day at full speed, then 1 Mbps; resets daily10 GB / 30 days ¥2,580 (from 3 GB ¥1,180)Unlimited: yes, within the daily allowance. Standard: not stated by our supplier

If something goes wrong, and support

Scroll sideways to see every provider's details.

ProviderJapanese IPPhone numberLost or broken phoneRefund if it doesn't workSupportChecked
AiraloNot statedNo (data only)Can't be moved to a new phone; Airalo's help says to buy a new eSIMIf an Airalo-side problem stops it working; request within 30 days and help troubleshoot24/7 chat and app, multiple languagesOctober 18, 2026
SailyNot stated (optional "virtual location" feature)No (US number sold separately)Same eSIM can be reinstalled on a new phone via the app; if lost, contact support (outcome not stated)Full refund within 30 days if not installed or activated; after activation, case by case24/7 in-app chatOctober 18, 2026
HolaflyMay show a foreign IP (home-routed roaming, per Holafly)No (data only)Can't be moved to another phone; contact support if lost (outcome not stated)Full or partial if the fault is Holafly's or the network's; contact them during the trip24/7 chat, email, WhatsAppOctober 18, 2026
UbigiNot stated (optional IP location feature)No (data only)Same eSIM can be moved to a new phone via the app; if the old phone is lost or broken, contact supportOnly before the QR code is scanned, unless an Ubigi-side fault is shown24/7 form; chat mostly automated, can hand over to a personOctober 18, 2026
Sim LocalNot statedNo (data only)Lost or stolen: Sim Local says it can't help; contact the network operator directlyFull refund within 14 days if not activated; after that, only for a technical fault on their or the network's side24/7 chat, WhatsApp, emailOctober 18, 2026
MobalNot statedYes, on long-term monthly voice plans (ID check, no email delivery)Data-only eSIMs: a new order is requiredMoney-back guarantee within 8 days of activation (max 90 days from purchase), if they get a chance to fix itEnglish-speaking team in Japan and the UK, by ticketOctober 18, 2026
Sakura MobileNot statedYes, voice + data eSIM for travelers (in-person ID check at airport or Shinjuku)Works only on the first device it was installed on; lost phone not statedFull refund if cancelled before the QR code is issued; optional ¥550 cover for incompatible phonesPhone and email in English, daily 10:00–17:00 JSTOctober 18, 2026
Japan WirelessStates “Local IP”No (no SMS either)A new phone needs a new eSIM purchase5G plans non-refundable; free pocket Wi-Fi sent if it can't connect (“Plan B”)Japan-based team, daily, chat, email and phone, 7 languagesOctober 18, 2026
povo Japan SIMNot stated (Japanese carrier's own network)No (data only)No reissuesNo returns, refunds or reissuesEnglish, online only, 9:00–19:00 JSTOctober 18, 2026
IIJ Japan Travel SIM (eSIM)Not stated (Japanese carrier)No (data only)eSIMs can't be reissuedNo returns or exchangesPhone 9:00–19:00 JST in Japanese, English, Chinese; AI chat 24hOctober 18, 2026
iroirousStandard: yes (supplier specification). Unlimited: roaming profile, not statedNo (data only)1 free reissue per order: a new eSIM of the same plan, while the original is still validFull refund if it can't connect on a supported, unlocked phone and we can't fix it; ask within 7 days of purchaseAI chat 24/7 in 42 languages; people 10:00–19:00 JST in the same chat; up to 3 calls made for you in JapaneseLive price
  • “Unlimited” is not the same everywhere. Most plans give a fixed amount of full-speed data per day and then slow down; compare the speed rule, not the word.
  • Ubigi's refund rules differ between its terms and its help centre; the table uses the stricter terms.
  • IIJ's store price is set by each retailer. The price shown is IIJ's own announced price from 2025.
  • We did not include products that only certain card holders can buy (for example Japan SIM for MyJapan+, which needs a Taiwanese phone number and JCB card).

docomo, au (KDDI) or SoftBank: does the network matter?

Japan has three nationwide networks: NTT docomo, au (KDDI) and SoftBank, plus the newer Rakuten Mobile. In big cities all three work well. The difference shows in the countryside, mountains, long tunnels and underground, where coverage depends on the network's own towers.

Travel eSIMs from global brands usually roam on SoftBank or KDDI, sometimes both. Japanese providers use one network: povo uses au, IIJ and b-mobile use docomo. An eSIM that can switch between two networks gives you a fallback when one is weak.

Independent testers such as Opensignal publish Japan network reports every few months; each network wins different categories, and no single network wins everything. If you will spend most of your trip in rural areas, pick a plan on docomo or one that can use more than one network.

Roaming eSIM vs Japanese network profile, and why the IP matters

Most travel eSIMs are roaming profiles: the SIM is issued by a carrier abroad and roams on a Japanese network. Your traffic may leave the internet in another country, so websites see a foreign IP address. Holafly says this openly; most other brands don't state it.

A foreign IP rarely matters for maps or messaging. It matters for Japanese banking, ticket and streaming sites that check where you are, some restaurant booking sites, and sites that show extra captchas to IP ranges shared by many users.

A Japanese network profile (an MVNO or the carrier's own SIM) normally gives a Japanese IP. povo and IIJ are Japanese carriers' own SIMs, though neither states the IP; iroiro's Standard plans are specified with a Japanese IP, and Japan Wireless states “Local IP”. iroiro's Unlimited plans are a roaming profile.

What “unlimited” really means in Japan

Almost every unlimited plan for Japan is a daily allowance of full-speed data followed by a slower speed. At 1 Mbps, maps, messaging and music still work; HD video and large uploads do not.

  • Airalo and iroiro Unlimited: 3 GB a day at full speed, then 1 Mbps, reset every day.
  • Saily: 5 GB a day, then 1 Mbps. Ubigi 8 days: 5 GB a day, then 2 Mbps.
  • Japan Wireless 4G “unlimited”: 3 GB a day, then 256 kbps.
  • Mobal and Sakura Mobile (au/KDDI unlimited): no daily figure published; Mobal says “it really is unlimited”, Sakura says “no daily limits”.
  • Holafly, povo and Sim Local: no published daily figure; they say speed may be reduced under fair use or congestion (Sim Local's guarantee terms mention 10 GB a day).
  • Hotspot rules are separate: Mobal, Sakura Mobile and Sim Local allow up to 6 GB on 7-day unlimited; Holafly allows 1 GB a day; Saily's terms forbid excessive tethering on unlimited.

How much data do you need?

For maps, messaging, translation and social media, most travelers use about 0.5 to 1 GB a day. A week in Tokyo and Kyoto fits in 5 to 10 GB. If you watch video every day, take video calls or share your connection with a laptop, choose unlimited.

Fixed-data plans are much cheaper than unlimited if you are a light user: 10 GB costs ¥1,430 at povo and about $12 to $18 at the global brands, against $19 to ¥5,775 for 7 days unlimited.

If it doesn't work when you land: refunds compared

This is where providers differ most, and where few comparisons look. Read the condition, not the headline.

  • No refunds at all: povo Japan SIM, IIJ Japan Travel SIM.
  • No refund, but a backup: Japan Wireless 5G plans are non-refundable, and it sends a free pocket Wi-Fi if the eSIM can't connect.
  • Refund only before you install, scan or activate: Saily (within 30 days), Sim Local (within 14 days), Ubigi (before the QR code is scanned), Sakura Mobile (before the QR code is issued; optional ¥550 cover for incompatible phones).
  • Refund if the fault is theirs: Airalo (within 30 days, after troubleshooting with support), Holafly (contact them during the trip), Sim Local (technical fault on its or the network's side), Mobal (money-back guarantee within 8 days of activation, if given the chance to fix it).
  • iroiro: a full refund if the eSIM can't connect in Japan on a supported, carrier-unlocked phone and our team can't fix it, requested within 7 days of purchase. A phone that doesn't support eSIM or is carrier-locked is not covered, so run the device check first.

If you lose or break your phone

An eSIM lives on one phone. If that phone is lost, stolen or broken during the trip, the eSIM and its remaining data usually go with it, and a QR code normally installs only once. Providers handle this in three ways.

  • No reissue, buy again: povo (“No returns, refunds or reissues”), IIJ (“eSIMs cannot be reissued”), Airalo (can't be recovered or transferred), Mobal data-only eSIMs (a new order is required), Japan Wireless (a new phone needs a new eSIM).
  • Move the same eSIM yourself: Saily and Ubigi let you reinstall the eSIM on another phone through their app. If the old phone is lost or broken, both ask you to contact support (Saily on its blog); neither states the outcome.
  • Not handled by the seller: Sim Local says it can't help with a lost or stolen device and points you to the network operator.
  • Not stated for a lost phone: Holafly (contact support), Sakura Mobile Travel eSIM.
  • Paid cover: Mobal's All Risk Protection Plan, a separate paid plan, includes a free replacement eSIM for a lost, stolen or damaged phone (police report needed, one claim per 12 months).
  • iroiro: every order includes 1 free reissue. Tell us in the chat; we confirm the order by email and send a new eSIM of the same plan to the same address, while the original plan is still valid or before its activation deadline. The new eSIM's validity counts from its own first connection in Japan.

Each provider in short

Each summary uses the same format: who it suits, what is good, what is weaker. We include iroiro's weak points too.

povo Japan SIM

Best for: the lowest price, if you are comfortable without refunds.

Good
  • Among the lowest prices here (¥3,390 for 7 days unlimited, ¥1,430 for 10 GB / 7 days)
  • Sold by KDDI's own brand, on the au network with 5G
  • No photo ID needed
Weaker
  • Needs a credit card and an SMS-capable number from one of 20 listed countries or regions
  • No returns, refunds or reissues
  • Support in English only, online, 9:00–19:00 JST
  • Hotspot rules and daily speed limits are not stated

Airalo

Best for: a familiar global app, if you also use it in other countries.

Good
  • SoftBank and KDDI, 3 GB a day at full speed on unlimited
  • Fixed-data plans from $4.00, hotspot allowed
  • 24/7 support
Weaker
  • IP country not stated
  • Refund only for problems on Airalo's side, after troubleshooting
  • Shown price can change with your currency

Saily

Best for: heavy users who want the most full-speed data a day.

Good
  • 5 GB a day at full speed on unlimited
  • Full refund within 30 days if you haven't installed or activated it
  • 24/7 in-app chat
Weaker
  • Terms forbid excessive tethering on unlimited
  • No 10 GB / 7-day plan (10 GB is a 30-day plan at $17.99)
  • IP country not stated

Holafly

Best for: people who want one simple unlimited plan.

Good
  • Unlimited plans by the day, from $3.90 a day
  • 24/7 chat, email and WhatsApp
  • States openly that traffic is home-routed
Weaker
  • IP may appear foreign (Holafly's own help page)
  • Hotspot capped at 1 GB a day
  • No fixed-data plans; no published full-speed allowance
  • Refund requests should be made during the trip

Ubigi

Best for: cheap fixed data and the widest network list.

Good
  • Lists KDDI, NTT docomo and SoftBank
  • 10 GB for 7 days at $14; data sharing allowed
  • 8-day unlimited with 5 GB a day, then 2 Mbps
Weaker
  • No 7-day unlimited plan
  • Refunds only before the QR code is scanned, unless Ubigi's fault is shown
  • Support mainly by form; chat is mostly automated

Sim Local

Best for: a low unlimited price with a refund window before activation.

Good
  • $19 for 7 days unlimited on au (KDDI)
  • Full refund within 14 days if not activated, and refunds for technical faults after that
  • 24/7 chat, WhatsApp and email; hotspot up to 6 GB on 7-day unlimited
Weaker
  • Unlimited is subject to KDDI's fair use; no daily full-speed figure on the plan page
  • Network labels differ between its plan list and plan details for fixed-data plans
  • IP country not stated

Mobal

Best for: unlimited without a published daily cap, or a long stay with a phone number.

Good
  • ¥3,850 for 7 days unlimited (tax included), no fair-use limit stated
  • Money-back guarantee within 8 days of activation
  • Japanese phone numbers on long-term voice plans
Weaker
  • Hotspot capped at 6 GB on 7-day unlimited
  • Voice plans need an ID check and can't be delivered by email
  • Support by ticket; hours not stated

Sakura Mobile

Best for: a short trip where you need a Japanese phone number.

Good
  • Voice + data eSIM for travelers
  • Office in Shinjuku and airport counters; phone support in English
  • Full refund if you cancel before the QR code is issued
Weaker
  • One of the highest unlimited prices here (¥5,775 for 7 days including tax)
  • Voice eSIM needs an in-person ID check before it starts
  • Support 10:00–17:00 JST

Japan Wireless

Best for: people who want a backup device if the eSIM fails.

Good
  • States a local (Japanese) IP; 4G plans on docomo, 5G on KDDI
  • Free pocket Wi-Fi sent if the eSIM can't connect (“Plan B”)
  • Japan-based team, chat, email and phone, 7 languages
Weaker
  • One of the highest 7-day unlimited prices here ($35.35 for 5G before coupons)
  • 5G plans are non-refundable, and its refund FAQs don't all say the same thing
  • 4G “unlimited” slows to 256 kbps after 3 GB a day

IIJ Japan Travel SIM

Best for: buying after you land, at a convenience store.

Good
  • docomo network from a major Japanese provider
  • Plans from 3 GB to 55 GB, all valid 30 days
  • Phone support in Japanese, English and Chinese
Weaker
  • Only sold in stores in Japan; no official way to buy before your trip
  • 4G only, no 5G
  • IIJ lists a known 4G connection issue on iPhone 16e, iPhone Air, iPhone 17e and iPhones on iOS 26 or later
  • No returns or exchanges

iroiro (us)

Best for: first-time eSIM users and anyone who wants help in their language.

Good
  • Full refund if it can't connect on a supported, unlocked phone and we can't fix it (ask within 7 days)
  • Standard plans on NTT docomo with a Japanese IP
  • 1 free reissue per order if your phone is lost or broken, while the plan is still valid
  • AI chat 24/7 in 42 languages, people 10:00–19:00 JST, 3 calls made for you in Japanese
Weaker
  • More expensive than povo, Sim Local, Mobal and Airalo for 7 days unlimited
  • Our Unlimited plans are a roaming profile on SoftBank / KDDI, the same kind of network product several global brands sell; the price difference pays for the promise above
  • Standard plans are 4G only; no top-ups yet
  • Human support is during Japan daytime; outside those hours you hear back the next morning

Japanese providers most comparisons leave out

Most English-language comparisons only list global eSIM brands. Japanese carriers also sell to visitors, often for less, but with stricter conditions and support mostly in English or Japanese.

  • povo Japan SIM (KDDI): buy online before or after arrival, au network. Unlimited from 6 hours (¥260) to 7 days (¥3,390). A cash-only scratch card version is sold at Lawson stores in Japan.
  • IIJ Japan Travel SIM: docomo, 3 to 55 GB for 30 days, physical SIM or eSIM, sold in Japanese convenience stores and electronics stores. IIJ also sells an unlimited physical SIM (au network) at Bic Camera.
  • b-mobile VISITOR eSIM (Japan Communications): docomo, you choose days and data (for example 7 days and 5 GB comes to about ¥1,457 on b-mobile's own price calculator). Hotspot allowed; activation must happen in Japan; support in English.

eSIM vs pocket Wi-Fi vs roaming

An eSIM is usually the cheapest way to stay online in Japan if your phone supports it. Pocket Wi-Fi suits groups sharing one connection or phones without eSIM. Your home carrier's roaming pass is the simplest option but usually the most expensive for a week or more.

OptionTypical costGoodWeaker
Travel eSIM¥1,430 to about $35 a week, depending on dataInstall at home, no pickup or return, keep your home number for SMSNeeds an eSIM-capable, unlocked phone; one eSIM per phone
Pocket Wi-Fi rentalNinja WiFi ¥440–¥1,980 a day; Japan Wireless ¥7,450 for 7 daysSeveral devices share one connection; works with any phonePickup and return, a second device to charge, you must stay together
Home-carrier roamingAT&T / Verizon $12 a day; Telstra A$10 a day; Bell C$16 a day; Rogers C$75 for 7 daysNothing to install; keeps your number for callsHighest cost for longer trips; daily data caps vary by plan
Physical tourist SIMb-mobile 5 GB / 10 days ¥1,980 plus delivery; IIJ from ¥2,480 in storesWorks on phones without eSIMDelivery or store pickup; you swap out your home SIM

How we compared

For this first version we compared providers using information they publish themselves: plan pages, help centres and terms of service, all checked on October 18, 2026. Where a page could not be read in a normal way, we noted it and checked again. We have not yet run our own speed tests, so this article makes no claim about which eSIM is fastest.

We included the global brands that appear most often in other comparisons (Airalo, Saily, Holafly, Ubigi, Sim Local), providers that focus on Japan (Mobal, Sakura Mobile, Japan Wireless) and Japanese carriers' own visitor products (povo, IIJ). Where a provider's own pages disagree with each other, we use the plan page and say so. iroiro's row uses our live prices. If you spot something that has changed, tell us in the chat and we will correct it.

Sources (50), checked October 18, 2026

FAQ

What is the best eSIM for Japan?

It depends on what you need. povo Japan SIM (¥3,390) and Sim Local ($19) are the cheapest for 7 days unlimited; povo has no refunds. Sakura Mobile and Mobal offer Japanese phone numbers. iroiro suits first-time users who want a refund if it can't connect and support in their language.

Is unlimited data really unlimited in Japan?

Usually not at full speed. Many plans give a daily full-speed allowance and then slow down: 3 GB a day then 1 Mbps at Airalo and iroiro, 5 GB a day at Saily and Ubigi. Mobal and Sakura Mobile state no daily limit; Holafly, povo and Sim Local may slow you under fair use.

Will a Japan eSIM give me a Japanese IP address?

Only some do. iroiro's Standard plans use a Japanese network profile with a Japanese IP, and Japan Wireless states a local IP. Roaming eSIMs may show a foreign IP; Holafly says so, and most others don't state it. It matters for some Japanese banking, ticketing and streaming sites.

Can I use a Japan eSIM as a hotspot?

Most allow it, with limits. Airalo, Ubigi and Japan Wireless allow hotspot use; Mobal, Sakura Mobile and Sim Local cap it at 6 GB on 7-day unlimited; Holafly at 1 GB a day. iroiro Unlimited allows it within the 3 GB daily full-speed allowance. povo and IIJ don't state a rule.

Do Japan eSIMs include a phone number?

Most travel eSIMs are data only. Sakura Mobile sells a voice + data eSIM for travelers after an in-person ID check, and Mobal offers numbers on long-term plans. Otherwise use WhatsApp, LINE or FaceTime, and keep your home SIM on for SMS codes with its data roaming off.

What happens if my eSIM doesn't work when I land?

Contact support before deleting anything. povo and IIJ give no refunds; Japan Wireless sends a backup pocket Wi-Fi; Saily, Sim Local and Ubigi mainly refund before activation; Airalo, Holafly and Mobal refund when the fault is theirs. iroiro refunds in full if it can't connect on a supported, unlocked phone, within 7 days of purchase.

What if I lose or break my phone in Japan?

An eSIM can't be moved from a lost or broken phone, so you need a new one. povo and IIJ give no reissues; Saily and Ubigi let you move the same eSIM in their app. Every iroiro order includes 1 free reissue: ask in the chat, we confirm your order by email and send a new eSIM of the same plan while the original is still valid.

Can I buy a Japan eSIM at the airport?

You can buy one online on airport Wi-Fi, and IIJ's eSIM is sold at convenience stores in Japan. Installing at home before you fly is easier: setup takes a few minutes on Wi-Fi, and most plans start only when you first connect in Japan.

Is an eSIM cheaper than pocket Wi-Fi or roaming in Japan?

Usually, for one person. A week of eSIM data costs about ¥1,430 to $35. Pocket Wi-Fi rental is about ¥7,450 a week at Japan Wireless, and US carrier day passes are about $12 a day. Pocket Wi-Fi can be cheaper for a group sharing one device.

Update history

  • First version. Prices, networks, hotspot, lost-phone, refund and support terms checked on each provider's official site.